GOVERNMENT OF WEST BENGAL DEPARTMENT OF HIGHER EUDCATION, SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY AND BIOTECHNOLOGY

(INTEGRATED LAW CELL)
BIKASH BHABAN, SALT LAKE
KOLKATA-700091

NO. 116 —ILC/ OM-34L/2017

Date: 19.04.2017

NOTIFICATION

Whereas the West Bengal Universities and Colleges (Administration and Regulation) Act, 2017 has come into force w.e.f the 1st day of April, 2017, vide the Department's Notification No. 99–ILC dated 31.03.2017 published in the Kolkata Gazette (Extraordinary), and implementation of the provisions of the Act has become necessary as expeditiously as possible, and

Whereas it is found expedient that for the suitable implementation of the provisions of the Act with the view to achieve the true objectives of the Act, various rules, notifications, by-laws, formats, forms etc. are required to be formulated and issued by the State Government on urgent basis, and

Whereas it is also found expedient that the efficient expertise of reputed educationist like Principals of Government-aided Colleges, who have long standing association in working in the Government-aided Colleges, are required in order to formulate those rules, notifications, by-laws, formats, forms, etc, since, most of the proposed rules will directly related with the terms and conditions of service of the employees of Government-aided Colleges, and thereby constitution of a Committee in this regard is found necessary, and

Therefore, in pursuance of the above mentioned objectives, the Governor, is hereby pleased to constitute a Committee for this purpose under the **Chairmanship Prof. Jayasri Ray Chaudhuri, Director of Public Instructions**, along with the following members, namely;—

- (1) Dr. Dipak Kar, Principal, Ashutosh College, Kolkata,
- (2) Dr. Deb Kumar Mukherjee, Principal, Maynaguri College, Jalpaiguri,
- (3) Dr. Gopal Chandra Deb, Principal, Midnapore College, Paschim Medinipur,
- (4) Dr. Subiresh Bhattacharya, Principal, Shyama Prasad College, Kolkata,
- (5) Dr. Susanta Kumar Majumdar, Principal, Polba Mahabidyalaya, Hoogly,
- (6) Dr. Chandan Chakraborty, Principal, Vivekananda College, North 24-Parganas,

- (7) Dr. Abdallah Jamader Hussan, Principal, Gour Mohan Sachin Modal Mahavidyalaya, South 24-Parganas,
- (8) Dr. Asit Kumar Mahato, Principal, Bikramjit Goswami Memorial College, Purulia,
- (9) Dr. Uma Ukil, Principal, Sarojini Naidu College for Women, North 24-Parganas,
- (10) Sister Coutino, Principal, Loreto House College, Kolkata,
- (11) Swami Bhudevananda, Principal, Rams Krishna Mission Residential College, Narendrapur, South 24-Parganas,
- (12) Dr. Debesh Roy, Sahid Mutangini Hazra Women's College, Purba Medinipur,
- (13) Dr. Debashish Chatterjee, Principal, South Calcutta Law College, Kolkata,
- (14) Dr. Sandip Kumar Paul, Principal, City College of Commerce and Business administration, Kolkata,
- (15) Dr. Sarmila Mitra, Principal, Behala College, South 24-Parganas,
- (16) Dr. Swapon Kumar Pan, Principal, Guskara Mahavidyalaya, Burdwan,-Member-Convenor.

2. Terms of references:-

- (1) The Committee shall examine the existing Acts/ rules/ orders/ notifications, etc. issued by the State Government, from time to time in regard to the administration of the Government-aided colleges, and also examine the relevant constituting Acts/ Statutes/ Ordinances and Regulations or rules of various State-aided Universities in vogue and suggest suitable modification, amendment, alteration, if considers necessary, keeping in view of the provisions of the West Bengal Universities and Colleges (Administration and Regulation) Act, 2017;
- (2) The Committee shall take steps for formulating the draft rules/ notifications, etc. and also suggest suitable Proforma/ format/ forms required in pursuance of the said rules, keeping in mind the true spirit and objectives of the West Bengal Universities and Colleges (Administration and Regulation) Act, 2017, on the following subjects, namely;—
 - (a) the terms and conditions of service of all employees of the Government-aided Colleges in West Bengal;
 - (b) uniform rules regarding code of conduct and disciplines for all employees of the Government-aided Colleges in West Bengal;
 - (c) the manner and procedure of holding disciplinary proceedings against the employees of the Government-aided Colleges in West Bengal;

- (d) the manner and procedure including the terms and conditions of transfer, including mutual transfer and transfer of own seeking of all employees of the Government-aided colleges excepting minority-administered Government-aided colleges;
- (e) the manner and procedures for maintaining funds and accounts including provident funds of all the employees of the Government-aided Colleges in West Bengal;
- (f) the rules relating to the composition, duties, functions and responsibilities of the Students' Body or the Students Union including the manner and procedure and eligibility to participate in the election of students Union or Students Body of all Government-aided Colleges in West Bengal, including the Government-aided colleges administered by minorities;
- (g) the rules ensuring punctuality, attendance and work output of employees of the Government-aided Colleges in West Bengal;
- (h) the manner and procedures including different forms of maintaining Annual Confidential Report, Performance Appraisal Report and Annual Declaration of movable and immovable assets of all employees of the Government-aided Colleges in West Bengal;
- (i) uniform rules for maintaining and auditing annual accounts of every Governmentaided Colleges in West Bengal;
- (j) the financial and expenditures rules and procedures for all Government-aided Colleges in West Bengal;
- (k) the rules regulating the procedure of appointment of all employees of the Government-aided Colleges in West Bengal;
- 3. The Committee shall submit its report along with recommendations, if any to the State Government including the draft rules/ formats/ Proforma/ forms etc, within three months for consideration of the State Government.

By Order of the Governor,

Secretary

Government of West Bengal